To my fellow Dickinsonians

This might get insanely sappy and emotional but I absolutely have to write this post, so I apologize in advance.

As I was packing to leave for school, I brought all of my favorite books and a ton of nail polish and a ridiculous amount of movies. One of my friends called me out on it, and I said it was because I was going to be alone and not make friends and I would have to sit in my room all day. Naturally, she told me I was dumb and a total catch, one of which is true.

I came to school three days before actual orientation for an event called pre-orientation, which is where you sign up for an interest group in something that you like, and you spend the whole three days with your group. I picked theater, and spent that entire week with the performing arts groups. A month later we were talking about living together sophomore year, and we spent every waking minute together. After only a few weeks, it felt like I had known them my whole life. I felt more close to them than most of the people I had known since kindergarten.

The first semester is hard. No one can really tell you what it is going to be like, because everyone is different. I know people who were fine after a week, and then people who still weren’t sure after winter break if they wanted to come back at all.

But know this. You are never the last one to miss home, and everyone gets sad and lonely and scared. Everyone adjusts at different paces, and just because yours is longer does not mean that you are crazy or less worthy of being there. The first time I visited Dickinson I had the feeling that I was meant to be here. And I got involved. I know being alone and doing nothing makes me anxious, so I joined choir and the student-run theater group and made amazing friends. The people I met made it bearable because I wasn’t alone, no matter how much of a burden I thought I was going to be.

So to my squad, thank you. You helped me out of my slumps, held my hand through the “periods,” and sat with me while I cried. You told me it was okay, and that no one was going to leave my side. And you didn’t. And it worked because I will always do the same for you. You all made it worth staying, and it terrifies me to think where I would be without you.

Love always,

~ Addie

IMG_6317IMG_6062

Leave a Reply

