For Eve

On March 5, 2008 I got off the school bus and saw both of my parents. That was weird. It was usually a babysitter or just one parent, or I just walked the half a block to my house. And then they told me she died. The first thing that popped into my mind was some sickness or an accident. But no, she had been taken from her home and killed. I was in fifth grade.

Today, March 5, 2016 is the 8 year mark.

Eve was kind, generous, beautiful, funny, caring, empathetic, and smart. I hate that I don’t remember all that much about her. But I remember her hair and this dress she wore with polka dots. I remember when she decided to go to UNC at Chapel Hill. And I remember when she brought me and my friends hats back from Cuba and we started a band called the Castros. I remember her babysitting me and my friends and watching movies. And I remember how Athens broke when we found out she was gone.

I remember neighborhood families taking turns sitting outside their house so no one would bother them. For days my dad would go at the crack of dawn when he woke up. I remember how everyone just seemed kind of lifeless, showing no real emotion except for tears, but their faces not really moving. I remember my mom couldn’t sleep. I remember visiting her grave and thinking about what kind of person would think to kill someone as important and loved as Eve.

My parents wouldn’t let me go to the funeral in Chapel Hill-  it was going to be extremely heavy. So I had my own. Every night for weeks I would talk to her. I would tell her how my friends are doing and if I had seen her parents or her brother, or even just the dumb things my dogs would do. I don’t really pray that much, but I think of her family every day. And especially this last week I think about Eve.

I hope that I get to see you some day, Evie. You still inspire all of us to this day, and I hope that we are making you proud. We miss you more and more every day. Athens loves you.

Love always,

Addie

“Learn from every single being, experience and moment. What joy it is to search for lessons and goodness and enthusiasm in others.” – Eve Marie Carson. This is the inscription written on her memorial garden at UNC Chapel Hill.

IMG_3800

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 2.30.40 PM.png

One comment

  1. Melanie · March 5, 2016

    This is lovely, Addie. Eve was in my piano class at Clarke Middle School. She was adorable. Such a cute little thing. I am so glad you are helping spread the word about this special human being. Best to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

