Big Choices

Okay, so I know that I write a lot about things that help me, like running and dogs and music. But I do have to write about one thing that played a huge role in getting better. Yay for medicine!

I started going to therapy the January of my 8th grade year, and for a couple of years I was okay. Then junior year started and the summer before was rough, and my mom suggested meds. That August I went on anti-anxiety medication called Buspirone, and a few months later I went on an anti-depressant, called Lexapro. In February of my senior year I went off Lexapro because my psychiatrist said it was better to try life with out it at home while I felt safe, and if I needed it I could just go back to her.

When I got to school, I started freaking out again, and so I went back on the anti-depressants. I don’t have depression, but Lexapro also treats OCD symptoms and GADs, and it’s just nice to know I have one more thing to help. When my mom came after parent’s weekend, she brought me Clonazepam, which treats anxiety and panic disorders, and it’s only as needed. I haven’t needed it since November.

What I’m trying to say is that medicine is okay. Everyone is different, and when your brain is messing with you it’s not always just that you’re having a bad day. There are chemical imbalances and hormones and plenty of other things all up in there and medicine can help with those. It was the last thing my parents wanted to do, but they understood that anxiety wasn’t something I could just grow out of. Going on medicine does not mean that you’re giving up, you’re just trying something new.

Happy spring 🙂

~ Addie

Leave a Reply

