60

FullSizeRenderAbout a year ago my dad started brainstorming what he wanted to do for his 60th birthday, which is today. As his present to himself, we invited really close family friends from home in Athens to the lake house in New Hampshire back in June. Eliza and I basically did dishes for four days straight, but it was so fun. We got to share our most sacred place on Earth with our dearest friends. Now, we are at La Colombe D’or Hotel in St. Paul de Vence with some more very special friends. I say he planned very well.

My father has many amazing qualities. He is generous and determined and loving and will always drop what he’s doing to help someone. And his hair. It’s gorgeous.

Dad, I know that we give you a hard time. We get frustrated that you don’t wear deodorant and that you get really sassy during Scrabble, but I hope you know that we all adore you. You are incredible beyond belief and your passion for things that matter is truly inspiring. I’m so glad your birthday brought this group of exceptional people together. This trip is one for the books, and I hope you know how grateful we all are.

I’m proud to be your daughter. I’m fully aware that my life would be drastically different if Eliza and I were not part of your family, and I thank who ever is in charge every day that we are. Thank you for the adventures and the love and the encouragement. Thank you for talking me down from countless panic attacks and for being supportive and understanding when I couldn’t be anything for myself. I’m proud to call you my dad.

So. Happy birthday, freak. I love you!

3 comments

  1. bob · July 14, 2016

    So dear…so right.
    bc

    Like

  2. Cousin Gene · July 26, 2016

    Addie: A beautiful tribute to your wonderful dad. I’ve never played Scrabble with him, and yet somehow I can see your “sassy” comment rings utterly true 😉

    Like

  3. Richard Swank · December 26

    Your dad is one off the kindest, most passionate people I’ve ever known…thanks for sharing this intimate glimpse. I was thinking about him today when visiting Athens. Please tell him I said hi.

    Like

Leave a Reply

